Love not fear

         It is time to stop approaching God on our knees. Show reverence, respect, of course.  But it is important to realize that Jesus makes us worthy to stand before God.  In the Bible, angels appeared many times to people and they threw themselves down to the ground. The angel tells them every time to get up, to not be afraid, to fear not.

God needs us on our feet so we can serve Him.

There has to be a balance though.  Too many people these days have taken to the thought that they are God, because they have within them the light of God, which we call a soul.  But we are the creation, we are not the Creator.  We did not create ourselves.  The world existed long before us, and will exist long after us.

We need to realize that God is everything.  God is one.  God created everything, and everything is of God.  We are like fish, swimming in the sea that is God.

I believe that God is constantly seeking us.  I believe that we are all ministers of and to and for God.  I believe a hierarchy of “ordained” and “lay” ministers is dangerous and leads to a sense of “greater” and “lesser than”.

My faith is new and ancient at the same time.  I’m not creating it out of whole cloth.  Neither am I ripping up bits of pieces from all other faith traditions and making a quilt for myself.  I’ve seen a thread, a theme that runs through.  I believe that thread runs from God to us and back to God.  I believe that thread connects each of us, across languages, across countries, across cultures, across history.

That thread is a thread of love.  We are created by a loving God.  We are loved by God beyond words.  We are here to make this world better, to let God work through us.  We are here to let others know that they are loved by loving them.

We are here to wake up to ourselves, to our calling, to our lives.  We are here to be active participants in our lives and in the life of our community and world.  We are here to be fully alive.  You make love visible through living it.  Love out loud.  Live fully.

 

 

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

