Limit

         I think it is important to not be part of any organization that does not allow full membership to people – especially if it is because of something they have no control over. I won’t become a Catholic for this reason. Women cannot be priests simply because they are female. I won’t join the order of the Eastern Star for this reason. While it is a sister organization to the Masons, it is not equal.  It is an auxiliary group that supports them, rather than being the same.

I’m very wary of the new trend in spiritual circles that are “embracing the Divine Feminine” and are allow only women to be members. I understand what they think they are doing.  Women’s voices and stories have been excluded from the conversation for years.  They are trying to rectify things by putting the focus on female power. But to do this is simply to play the same game that has been played for centuries.  To celebrate the “Divine Feminine” at the exclusion of men is to ask women to be the oppressors and the excluders.  It isn’t opening up the conversation.  It is simply changing who the storyteller is.

To have female-only spiritual or religious groups isn’t empowering to women at all. It is the very opposite in fact.  It isn’t feminine at all to exclude people.  It certainly isn’t divine.  We have to work together.  This is why we were made differently, so we can share our strengths.  We will never fix an exclusionary organization by excluding people.  If we do, then we have become the very thing we oppose.

 

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

