Learned helplessness part 3

It is hard to be addicted, but it is still a conscious choice.  Addiction is like nothing else.  It consumes you.  Ideally, it is better to not start.  No one will ever tell you that smoking cigarettes, doing drugs, and eating junk food is good for you.  We all delude ourselves when we think we can do these things and not get hurt.  But if we do succumb and fall into that pit, there is a way out.  It is step, by step, by step.  But first you have to stop thinking of yourself as a victim.

I knew a guy who abused prescription drugs.  They weren’t even his drugs. It wasn’t an accident.  He didn’t develop an addiction from taking a medication that was prescribed for him. He was sober when he took the first pill (or four).  He wasn’t an addict when he started. He knew the risks.  He thought it couldn’t happen to him.  He thought he was special.

He ended up going to rehab twice.  His wife left him.  His brother started abusing drugs.  His father got sick from all the stress and ended up in the hospital.  And then he actually had the nerve to say “Why does all this bad stuff keep happening to us?” and “Why does God hate us so much?”

This passive attitude was the reason he was in that mess.  He was the cause of all that mess, not God.  We are the cause of our own problems – not others.  We are the solution too, not others.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

