Knowing the soul

Western medicine treats the patient like a machine, not like a person.  They see the body as the sum of the moving parts, but they don’t see the soul within.  They don’t understand the connection between the two. They don’t understand that you can’t separate them.  But then, this is because Western society does the same.

This is the same with modern food production.  Animals are treated like parts, like products.  They are not treated fairly or humanely.  They are not even accorded the kindness we give to pets that live outside.  They are treated as a commodity.  Their physical needs are barely met, and everything else is ignored.

Do we look at the packaging, or at the gift inside?  Do we judge a book by its cover? Sure.  All the time.  Women are judged all the time for their appearance and not their ability.

How many people do you know by name?  How many people know yours?  Plenty of people see me every day.  Some have seen me every week for sixteen years, and they still don’t know my name.  Those that know my name only know the one on my name tag.  They don’t know the name I like to go by.  They don’t know anything about what I like to read, but then they insist on recommending or even giving me books to read.

We can’t get upset about how everybody else has been doing this and how long it has been going on.  The change begins with us.  We have to be the change we wish to see in the world.  We can change this.  We have to stop and look people in the eyes.  We have to slow down and really connect.  It starts with us.  It starts today.  Turn off your cell phone and really connect with one other person today.  Ask them how they are doing and wait for the answer.  If they say “fine” and they don’t look like they mean it, ask again.  Be brave.   This can be someone you know or a stranger.  Sometimes the people we think we know, we really don’t know at all.  Sometimes we’ve been faking it with small talk all along.

It doesn’t have to be everybody you meet.  Start with one, right where you are.  If you feel brave, try two.  It is hard at first but it gets easier.  Just don’t let it get so easy that you forget to really do it.  Imagine what the world will be like if we all did this, every day, for the rest of our lives?  Time to start.  Let’s go.

——

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

