True teacher

         Part of being a good teacher is making sure your student can do everything on her own. If she still needs you around then she hasn’t really learned anything at all.  The goal is independence.

My Mom tried to teach me to sew, and it didn’t work out well.   We had an old Singer sewing machine that was in a standalone cabinet.  It was a huge piece of furniture.  While it was cool how the machine folded up inside this thing that served as a sideboard when it wasn’t in use, it wasn’t cool how it worked as a sewing machine.

I didn’t know that the problems I was having were the machine’s fault and not mine.  I thought that it would jam up it was because I did something wrong, and not because it had a faulty design. The problems were that my Mom didn’t tell me this, and that every time there was a problem she would fix it for me rather than teaching me how to do it myself.

After she died, the sewing machine became my nemesis.  A friend had taught me a little bit more about how to sew but I still was having a problem loading the bobbin or with the top thread getting stuck and jamming up with the bottom thread.  It seemed like I spent more time fixing problems than sewing.

Somehow I came up with the idea of buying a used, portable sewing machine rather than getting that one fixed.  It think it was cheaper to get a used one that worked rather than fix the one I had.   The new (-ish) one came with a manual with pictures.   I read it and understood how a sewing machine worked for a change.  I also learned that the Singer sewing machines were known for bobbin and thread problems.  If you have bobbin and thread problems, you don’t really have a sewing machine. I finally learned how to sew for real.

To be a good teacher, you have to teach the good and the bad.  You have to show the student the fun parts of the subject to get her interest, sure, but you also have to show her everything else.  She has to be able to do it all on her own.  Ideally, you’ll teach her everything you know, all your tricks and tips, all your hard earned knowledge, so that she will then be able to learn even more and pass that on. It is the only form of immortality we have.

We can’t live forever.  Our lives are far shorter than we realize. But our knowledge can last far beyond our bodies.  If we pass it on well, then we have improved the lives of everyone who lives past us. It is like a relay race.  Every person does her best so that the next person can do her best.  The team gets further along with each person who pushes herself. But if we are stingy with our knowledge then we might as well have not been in the race at all.

 

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

