Intention

         At the beginning of some yoga classes the teacher will invite you to set an intention. This is a prayer, or a hope, or a goal.  It is a focus point.  It is a way of aiming yourself in the right direction.

In that light, I offer you this insight from “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”. Alice asked the Cheshire Cat which way she should go.  The Cat then asked where she wanted to go.  Alice replied that she didn’t care where, as long as she got somewhere.  The Cat then sagely replied that if she walked long enough, she was sure to get somewhere.

You need to set an intention, otherwise you’ll end up just anywhere.  You’ll wander off aimlessly and years later you’ll end up wondering how you got there.  The answer is that you got there because you drifted along rather than heading in a particular direction.  Sometimes it isn’t planning to fail, but failing to plan that is the problem.

This is true mentally and physically.  Where do you want to go?  Do you have a business plan?  Do you have a career plan?  Do you have a spiritual plan?  This isn’t about the “name it and claim it” trend – it is about being awake and intentional about life.  I don’t believe in “wish-craft”.   I do believe that everything worth having in life is made up of little tiny steps.  You have to have a plan, and you have to work towards that, otherwise you’ll get nowhere.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

