Holding yourself hostage

I know people who carry guns with them everywhere they go.  They are afraid they are going to get robbed or killed by some stranger. The odd thing is that they are getting attacked all the time, but it is by themselves.
These people all have a common lifestyle. They smoke.  They eat poorly.  While they are afraid of some stranger coming up to them and harming them, they are doing to themselves in slow motion.
The fear that they are going to be attacked permeates their lives. Their blood pressure is high. Their stomach is upset all the time. These are symptoms of fear. This way of living is synonymous with “preppers”.  Who cares if you have two years worth of canned food and water if you can’t enjoy it because you are feeble?
Instead of walking around with a gun, work on peace.  The first way to work on peace is to work on yourself.  Eat better.  Go exercise.  These two things alone reduce anxiety and fear, and you’ll be in better shape to handle any eventuality.  Peace is an inside job.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

