Half a glass of water

The glass isn’t half empty, or half full.  It is half a glass of water.  Simple, see?  No “positive” or “negative” spin.  It just is, with no definition or judgment.

Notice how we are shaped to think in certain ways when we are given just a few choices.  Our language frames us.  We are shaped by it.  When you are asked to decide whether the glass is half empty or half full, you aren’t actually given a choice.  It looks like you are.  But really, the smartest thing you can do is to step back from the question and wonder why the person is trying to get you to decide either way.  Whoever is asking you wants to determine whether you are an optimist or a pessimist. They are trying to define you.

In reality, the glass is half full and half empty at the same time.  You can look at it however you want.  There is only half a glass of water.  Defining it as half-full or half-empty does nothing for the amount of water.

Sure, you can get excited that you have some water to drink, or you can get sad that you don’t have a full glass.  Or, far healthier for your head, you can just notice that there is half a glass of water.  It isn’t full, and it isn’t empty.  It is right in the middle. It is what it is, without deciding if it is good or bad.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

