Being different is normal

What if feeling “anxious and nervous” is your normal?  What if it isn’t something wrong at all? What if that is simply your way of being?

Imagine if we were all expected to be the same height, have the same hair color, and have the same body type.  God made us all look different on the outside for a reason.  Perhaps we are all different on the inside for the same reason.  Perhaps there is strength in our differences, and rather than us trying to all be average, we should start celebrating what makes us unique.

There is a big push in society for everybody to be the same, but we aren’t.  We all look different – but we can have surgery to all look the same.  We can wear clothes to make ourselves look smaller or taller or skinner or have curves in different places.  There are girdles and pads aplenty to make you look more like everyone else.

There are things to make you fit in mentally as well.  There are pills if you are depressed or manic, or eat too much, or don’t eat enough, or have anxiety, or ADD.  There are pills to help you wake up and those to help you go to sleep. There are pills to counter every state of human experience.

But why fit in?  Because it makes them feel better, or you?  Wouldn’t it be healthier for them to see you being you?  When you are honest about who you really are, then you are giving everyone else permission to be themselves. How about we all take off our masks and say that we are the way we are, and that is normal?

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Be yourself and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

