Get moving

 I knew a lady who said that she had to drop her books in the book drop just inside the door at the library rather than bring them up to the desk. She said they were too heavy for her.  The desk is ten feet away from the drop. I know another lady who needs large print but can’t hold it.  Just one book is too heavy for her. She now is no longer able to get herself in and out of bed or to the bathroom.  She has to get help to do anything.

I’ve heard stories of women who have had breast cancer surgery who aren’t allowed to use their arms for a few weeks after the surgery.  This means that they have to use their leg muscles to get out of a chair or off the toilet.   But they are in such bad shape that they have to get friends to stay with them to pull them up.

It has to be terrible to be trapped in your own body.  It has to be sad to get to the point that everything is difficult. It has to be hard or even embarrassing to have to ask for help to do the most basic tasks.

I once met a lady in a yoga class who was 72.  I am sure the reason she is doing so well is because she goes to the gym. She works really hard to stay flexible and strong.  She understands that if she doesn’t, she’ll be stuck like those other women.

It takes a lot of effort to stay in shape.  This isn’t about losing weight.  This is about having the strength and energy to be self-sufficient.  This is about having muscles in good enough shape to live well.  What does it matter if you make it to retirement age but you are in a wheelchair because of something you could have prevented?  If you choose to do what is necessary to get and stay healthy, you will have a long and strong life.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

