Fruitarian

There is a dietary choice known as being a “fruitarian”.  There are several different levels of it but essentially it is someone who does not eat anything that has been killed. It is a stricter version of vegetarianism.

It has been jokingly said that vegetarians are those who eat things that cannot run away.  While no animal is killed for them to be able to eat, a plant often is.  For instance, if you eat broccoli, the plant dies. However, if you eat a tomato, it does not.  It is the fruit of a plant. When you eat the fruit of a plant, you don’t have to kill it to eat it.

If you really care about the well-being of all living things then you have to understand that even plants are alive. Beans, nuts, seeds, grains, fruit and honey are all things that you can eat and nothing has to die. You could also eat eggs and milk. Hindus consider these gifts from the animal.          However, is it a healthy diet?  Steve Jobs was a fruitarian and he died of pancreatic cancer.

I think it is good to be mindful of our impact on this planet.  How many beings have to die so that we can live?  Is it better to eat fish instead of scallops?  One large fish can produce enough food for eight servings.  On the other hand, one serving of scallops means that at least a dozen scallops died.  Is that fair? If we choose to eat meat but eat less of it and are not wasteful, then we are being mindful in our choices.

In the biography of Saint Francis by Nikos Kazantzakis, we learn that Saint Francis often refused to eat because he felt that he should not cause the harm of any living being.  Sometimes that meant that he got very ill because he was malnourished.  This is a hard choice.  Who gets to live? You, or the other beings?

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

