Bird nest

There is a bird nest at the top of the hill in my back yard.  I noticed the nest the last time I was trimming the shrubs up there.  I looked at the nest and the eggs over the course of a week and they looked abandoned. I was sad about this.  I wanted them to change, to become birds.  I feared that my cutting the brush in that area had caused the parents to abandon the nest.  I felt that it was bad energy, especially for that area.

That area is special.  It has a small patio area that my husband put in.  It is a place to sit, just big enough for two.  These are what I refer to as my star stones. This is in honor of Madeline L’Engle’s “Wrinkle in Time” series.  This is where I sit to talk to God when I am outside at home, just like her characters did. Dead or unborn birds would be bad energy there, right?

But “bad” is just part of life. The “bad” of Judas betraying Jesus was preordained.  It was what had to happen for the story to continue.  It the same as Rumi’s “The Guest House”, it is the same as the Chinese story of the man, the boy, and the horse. It just is. Really, “good” and “bad” are just energy and perspective.

That week at work I found a pale blue egg away from its nest, dented, alone. It would become welcome food for ants and other unknown creatures. And it caused me to stop and think, and grieve a little.

Decay leads to new life. It can’t all be all go go go. Yoga has rests built into it. The music is the space between the notes. We can even learn from the exhale.  We can’t always breathe in. Day and night complement and complete each other.  The only constant is change.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

