First you have to see the box

The phrase “Think outside of the box” is getting to be cliché. It was cool for a while, but somebody needs to apply that thinking to the phrase itself and come up with something else.  The idea is good, however, so we will use it for the time being until we can create something new.

We all need to think this way. We all need to take the box and tear it up.  We need to see the box for what it is, and what it prevents us from seeing. We need to see how our language, our words, our culture, our society creates a box for us.  We need to see the invisible walls that have been put on our understanding and our ways of doing things.

We are taught from a very young age how to think and see and act. These rules help us all live in community.  But those rules and the generalizations that occur from them will always prevent us from seeing what really is there, and perhaps more importantly, what could be there.

Creative people challenge the status quo all the time.  The only way you can create is to tap in to the great well of “what if?” and “why not?”   A creative person is anyone who makes something that never existed before or brings some new idea to life.  You can be a musician or a writer or a dancer or in business or medicine.  Your art doesn’t have to be physical.  It can be a different way of thinking, of doing things.

Creating is for everyone, and by definition breaks rules.  It is very freeing to create. Often when I create I have no idea what is going to happen.  I start off with some vague idea, some seed, and I give it a little bit of time and attention and it always grows into something I didn’t expect.  That is the trick – be open to the idea.  Be available to it.  Welcome it.  You and the world will both be better because of it.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

