Everyday miracles

We expect miracles. We want healing right away. We forget that God created us as co-creators, as God’s agents in this world. Saint Theresa of Avila reminded us of this when she said that Christ has no hands or feet on this Earth but ours.

We forget that God called Moses to lead His people out of Egypt. God didn’t do it alone – God wanted a human to work together with God to bring forth freedom and healing. We forget that God used the prophet Samuel to relay the message of doom to the corrupt priest Eli. And most of all we forget that Mary brought forth the Messiah. There are countless stories throughout the Bible of God calling people to do God’s will here, on Earth as it is in Heaven. They aren’t miracles, happening on their own.  They are miracles, happening through us.

God calls all of us. That is why He made us. Yes, you, right there, right where you are. God made you because God needs you.

Sometimes there was a bit of arguing when God called people to help.  They’d say things like “Me? Really? I’m not any good at that. Can’t you send somebody else?” Rarely do they just say straightaway “Here I am, Lord”, but some do. It doesn’t matter if we believe in our abilities.  God believes, and that is all that matters.

God works through us every day. He sends a friend to listen. He sends us to a stranger to do the same. He sends a nurse to notice that we have a health problem we should tend. He sends us to cheer on a friend who is trying to quit smoking. Don’t ask what God can do for you – ask what you can do for God.

You don’t have to wait for the call – you have already been called. Be kind. Show love. Don’t gossip. Encourage others. Teach. Offer a shoulder to cry on. Feed the hungry. Work at a food kitchen. Work for peace – at home, at work, in the neighborhood, in the world. Every little bit counts, and it all adds up. Even doing a small thing is better than doing nothing.

The miracle is that God is with us all the time, and He will never forsake us. God constantly helps us. God strengthens us and raises us up from the chaos of the world. God performs His miracles through us. That is the real miracle – that God needs us, and wants us, and loves us. He never said this life would be easy, but He always says that He will be with us, to the ends of the earth.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

