Amateurs

 

God likes using amateurs.   Look at Moses.  He wasn’t an expert at anything when God called him.  God said “Hey, I need you to go talk to Pharaoh and free my people,” and Moses said “You have got to be kidding.  Me? Talk to Pharaoh? I stutter.  Lead everybody out of Egypt? Who would follow me, I’m nobody?” And yet he did, with no training and no expertise.

Look at King David.  He was just a boy.  He was too small to wear the armor that was given to him when he went up against Goliath.  The whole Israelite army hadn’t been able to get past this giant.  One boy, armed with the strength of God and a rock, did the job.

Why a rock?  Why not a sword’?  David used a rock because that is what he knew.  He wasn’t a warrior.  He was a shepherd.  He used a slingshot to chase off the wolves that were terrorizing his sheep. This time, Goliath was the wolf.  One hit with one tiny rock, and he was down. God uses us like that.  The small stuff becomes the important stuff. The underdog wins.

David didn’t use a sword, he used a stone.  He used what he knew.  Note that he didn’t even bring the stones with him.  He went to a nearby stream and found them. God provides what we need for the task at hand at the time we need it. It isn’t on us to do all the work.  It is up to us to show up and let God do the work through us. Just like with Moses, God calls us and uses us as we are.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Be yourself and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

