Don’t be afraid

 

How many times does the Bible tell us to not be afraid? Some say once per day. What is the opposite of fear?  Love. Consider this – love everything you are afraid of.  Love everything that frightens you, that worries you, that concerns you.

Love your chronic health condition(s).  Love your friend’s brain cancer diagnosis.  Love your fat.  Love your back pain.  Love your hoarder husband. Love your crazy next door neighbor. Love your irrational relative.

The more we fight against things, the harder they get.  The more we struggle, the more difficult things are. You can’t have a baby if you are tense.  Sometimes what is being born is yourself.  Relax into the pain.  Ride it out.  Know it will pass. And like with any other transformation, something amazing will be come out of this pain.

We hate change.  We like to be in control.  We fear the unknown. Our hate, our need to control, our fear doesn’t change reality. It only makes it harder to accept. Sometimes it makes it impossible for the new reality to arrive.

The only thing we have control over is our reaction. Learn to breathe deeply.  Choose to eat food that is good for you.  Choose to exercise daily. Find your creative outlet.  Learn to trust the process.  And remember to love.  To love is to welcome the change, to embrace it. “Perfect love casts out fear,” Jesus tells us.

How do we know we are not a caterpillar transforming into a butterfly? How do we know we are not a tadpole about to become a frog? We are about to trade a life of crawling for one of soaring. We are about to trade a life of water for air and land.

Don’t fight it.  Let it happen. Know that God is in control of all things. Remember that you are loved by God. Remember the lily of the valley. Don’t be afraid.  Choose to love instead.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

