Be you

Who are you, really? What have you always wanted to do?  What is your dream vocation? Are you doing it?  Why not? I want to encourage you to dream big.  I want to encourage you to be the person you were made to be.  I want you to wake up and see that life is indeed what you make of it.

My father wanted to be a conductor.  Not of trains, although there was one summer he got to operate the trolley at the Chattanooga Choo Choo.  What he really wanted to do was conduct an orchestra.  His first and truest love was classical music.  I remember him telling me a story that when he was young he used to listen to classical records in the closet. Notice that.  He was listening to classical music – in the closet.  He was hiding as if he was doing something wrong.

He never lived out that dream.  Perhaps there was shame that was put on him by his parents.  I can imagine them telling him that conducting an orchestra isn’t a practical job, it won’t feed a family.  Perhaps they convinced him that he wouldn’t be good enough at it to make it. There aren’t that many openings to be conductors.  Why try at all if you can’t be the best?

When parents or coworkers or friends or church members or strangers tell you that you can’t do something, they are really pushing their own insecurities onto you.  They don’t think they can do it, so they are sure you can’t. They mean well, usually.  They think they are saving you from the pain of failure.  But really, they are killing you.

Not being who you were created to be is the worst kind of death.  It is a death within life. Depression comes from being suppressed.  It comes from your true nature being denied.

This doesn’t mean that you have to quit your job and move to Tibet. This doesn’t mean you need to find a job at a non-profit.  This doesn’t mean that you have to stop reading fluffy romance books. Or maybe it does.

This means that it is a good idea to realize that life is short and it is time to really think about what you are doing and where you are going.  This means that it is time to give your dreams a try. This means that now is a good time to be yourself, really you, and not what everybody else thinks you should be.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Be yourself, Choices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

