Do something rather than nothing

 

Don’t ever choose to do nothing because you think you can’t do anything.  Something is better than nothing.

One time I was making a rosary.  I was cutting and twisting each link the hard way, instead of using eye pins.  My hand started to cramp up and I put it down.  A week went by before I picked it up again.   I then realized that the work that I had done hadn’t gone away.  I was that much closer to the end.

All progress towards a worthy goal is like this.  We aren’t able to get there all at once.  It takes a lot of work.  It takes a lot of time.  It takes a lot out of us, but it isn’t how you might think.  The stuff that it takes out is fear of being insignificant, fear of not making a difference, fear that what we have to offer isn’t good enough.

The same is true of any goal.  It is easy to put things off because you think you can’t make a difference.  It is easy to be jealous of people because they seem to have it all together, so you never even start.  You may think that you can’t ever be that good, so why try?  That kind of thinking is dangerous.  That kind of thinking will keep you in a hole forever.

Look at Mozart, or Matisse, or Marie Curie.  Each one made it to the top of their field. They didn’t get it there all at once.  They committed to a goal and worked on it, bit by bit. Nobody loses a significant amount of weight immediately.  Nobody gets a college degree overnight. Nobody becomes a published author immediately.  It all takes time and effort and discipline.

There is also often a lot of hidden failure in the success stories.  The trick is to not show off the beginner work. Paint over that canvas when you learn a new technique.  Don’t think that sloppy painting of a flower is all you can do.  You are starting.  Every baby has to learn how to walk.  Every new skill has to be learned.  Having patience with yourself and the process is helpful.  Knowing your limits, and pushing them a little, is helpful too.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

