Crazy house

When you are in the crazy house, all the crazy people know when you are one of them.  When you start to get normal again, they leave you alone. I’ve noticed that dysfunctional people tend to hang out with each other.  Birds of a feather, you know.  They don’t want to hang out with people who have gotten better.  Misery loves company, after all.

People say that they want to get healthy, but they don’t really.  Often they just want to talk about it but they don’t want to do anything about it. They want to be healthy, but they don’t want to get healthy.  Those who have been in that pit don’t want to listen to them whine and complain about where they are.  They want them to walk with them or journal or eat the same things they are eating.  They don’t want to get dragged back into that pit.

I spent a lot of time coming up with workarounds for people I knew.  They’d noticed that I’d lost a lot of weight and said they wanted to lose weight too.  For every suggestion I’d make, they’d come up with an excuse for why they couldn’t do it.  They spent more time figuring out how they couldn’t than how they could. They’d come up with an excuses instead of a way.

It is hard work to get healthy in mind, body, and spirit.  It is dark, difficult work, just like restoring a house that has started to fall down.  It takes time and a lot of effort.  But nothing worth having is easily obtained.

Being around people who don’t want to put in the work is hard.  It is hard to watch them flounder.  It is hard to not get dragged into their lethargy. But it is important to remember that when they really want to get better, they will.  They have to take the first step, and every one after that.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

