Cooking as an empowering act

I’ve come to see cooking not as a chore but as a truly artistic and creative act.   It is so empowering to feed myself. It is important to be in charge of your own health.  Your body is the most important tool you have.  Take care of it and it will take you far.

We all used to prepare our own foods.  Large grocery stores are a new phenomenon.  Sure, there were greengrocers.   They had fruits and vegetables.  Then there might also be a local baker.  But now most of our food is prepared for us.

We all used to know where our food came from, and what was in it.  We used to all know because we made it ourselves.  In some cases we knew because we grew it ourselves too. In getting away from making our own food, we’ve gotten away from ourselves.  We’ve given away a part of our nature.  We are what we eat after all.  If we don’t know what we eat, then what are we?

It takes some time, sure.  It can be done. Take it step by step.  You can start by picking one prepared food that you like to eat and learning how to make it.   You can get a book from the library, or watch a video on YouTube, or you can ask a friend.  You could start with something simple like hummus or guacamole. Before you know it, you might even be making bread. The more you make for yourself, the healthier and happier you will be.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

