Weeds and flowers

Weeds are bad habits. Flowers are good habits.  If you want more flowers, you have to dig up the weeds.  But you then have an empty space where the weed was. To prevent a weed going back in, you have to plant more flowers.

We have to be intentional about our time in order to not lapse into bad habits.  The New Year is coming, and plenty of people have resolutions.  Sadly, the resolutions last at most a month for many people.  Who wants to start going to the gym when it is cold and dark outside?  Good habits shouldn’t be so hard to start.

But that is the very best time to do anything – when it is hard.  It is easy to quit abusing substances when things are going well.  It is when things are going poorly that the old habit will come back.  You have to have a different thing to do to fill space.  Otherwise, that bad habit “weed” will take up residency again.  It might even be worse than before.

Jesus tells us about how dangerous it is to not have good practices in place in Matthew 12:43-45. He talks about when a bad spirit leaves a person, it wanders around looking for a place to rest.  Not finding anywhere, it decides to return to the person it came out of.  When it gets there, it finds the person “swept clean” and goes and gets seven other spirits that are even worse than it is and they all settle in him. The person who had gotten rid of that bad spirit now has even more trouble than before.

The bad habit, whatever it is, is like an unclean spirit.  When you get rid of it, if you don’t have a good habit in the place – if you are “swept clean” – it will sneak back in and bring reinforcements.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

