Anxious?

The Bible tells us to not be anxious all the time. I’ve heard it said that we are told to not worry 365 times in the Bible – one for every day.  So what does it mean to not be anxious?  Be perfect?  We can’t be perfect.   That isn’t possible for humans.

Even trying to not be anxious makes me anxious.  Then I get all wound up about how wound up I feel, and then I wind myself up even more.  There has to be another way through this or into this.

Both my parents were anxious. They both smoked two packs of cigarettes a day.  This meant that every twenty minutes they were lighting up a new cigarette.  I’m anxious too.  I have stress-busting techniques, but I still feel anxious more than I’d like.  I walk.  I work out.  I write and draw.  Then I got to the point where I realized that just trying to cram all those activities in every morning was causing me more anxiety. When I prayed about it, I got back that perhaps my anxiety isn’t something to be anxious about.  Perhaps it is who I am.  Perhaps I need to embrace it, to see it as a gift and not a problem. Perhaps God needs me to feel this way, and is using this feeling as a pathway, an opening.

Perhaps I need to see my “anxiety” as not a problem, but just a feeling.  Or perhaps see it as the same as my need to wear glasses, or that I’m shorter than the average person.  It isn’t a defect.  It is my normal.  God doesn’t ever want us to compare ourselves to anybody else, either good or bad.  God loves us exactly the way we are.  God made us this way.  Don’t be afraid of it.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anxious?

  1. stormysmile says:

    This is a great way to think of it. I often worry that my anxiety is leading me away from my relationship with god, but I need to let it bring us closer. You should try reading ‘Spurgeons sorrows’ It really helped me deal with depression, anxiety and faith. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I’ve added it to my “Goodreads” to-read list.
      I’m reminded of when God told Moses to go talk to Pharoah, and he said that he couldn’t because he had “a thick tongue” – (a speech impediment of some sort). God said basically “And who do you think made your tongue?”

      Like

Leave a Reply

