Chain link life

What all forms of cancer are caused by something as simple as a virus?  Scientists have already found that some forms of cancer are.  What if that is the answer to all of it?  What if, years from now, you can get a shot to prevent cancer the same way you can get a shot to prevent chickenpox?  What if it really is that simple? But until scientists figure that out, we have to take care of ourselves.

I think there is nothing inevitable about family history.  Sure, my Mom died of lung cancer and her Mom died of a heart attack.  But both of them smoked cigarettes and neither of them exercised.  Both allowed stress to eat away at them.

Illness is just looking for an opportunity to get in. Whatever your genetic history, it is like a chain link fence.  Some of the links are weak.  Wherever they are weak results in whatever disease your family tends to develop.

Cancer, diabetes, high blood pressure – all of these are robbers trying to break into your defenses.   All of them are looking for a way to sneak in and steal your most valuable possession – your life.  It is literally a life and death struggle, and if they win, you lose.

So you have to strengthen the gates.  You have to do what is in your power to not let them in. You won’t live forever.  That is impossible.  But you can do quite a bit to make the life that you have pleasant.   You might even be able to add more years to your life. If nothing else, you will certainly add more life to your years. Living out the rest of your days eating pureed food and in a wheelchair isn’t a great idea.  Do whatever you can to live well.  The life you save will be your own.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

