Uncover and recover

My plan for this past year or so has been to uncover, and recover.   It has been to dig up and dig out.  Simultaneously I have been reforming and recreating myself by becoming more aware and awake.

Some of this is teaching me to be more conscious, while some of this is teaching me to let go.  Some of it is about living in the moment as completely as possible.  Some of it is about seeing the path ahead and planning wisely.  And some of it is just simply about learning to be me.

You’d think I’d know how to do this by now.  I’ve had nearly half a century to practice, but not really.  For many of those years I wasn’t really awake, and that isn’t even including the years I spent stoned, or grieving, or both.  I’ve spent a long time running away from myself. Now that I’m conscious, I feel I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.  I feel like I’m behind.

And that is part of it too.  Being patient with myself, in the middle, in the mess.  Being patient, and knowing that this is where I need to be, and who I need to be right now.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

