Handling grief

Grief isn’t just about a death of a loved one. It is about loss.  Losing a job, divorce, moving, a diagnosis of a chronic ailment – these can all produce grief.  If you don’t get your grief out it can manifest itself in addictions and compulsions that cause even more problems.  In all these situations there is a sense of powerlessness.   Things aren’t as we think they should be.  Life is not following the script that we have in our heads.

There are things you can do in the wake of overwhelming grief that help.  The best results I’ve read about were from cultures that didn’t keep silent about their grief.  They got really loud and waved their arms.  This is totally foreign to Western culture.  It is normal for us to grieve in private or not at all.  We feel that grief is embarrassing and should be done silently at home, if at all.  Perhaps we see grief as too personal.

Perhaps we have a problem when anything from “inside” ourselves gets “outside”.  In the same way we have prohibitions about nudity, we have prohibitions about showing too much emotion.  It is seen as gauche or tacky.  It isn’t civilized.

When is grief over?  I like the Jewish concept of grieving.  There are specific time periods and specific actions for grief.  There are levels that are allowed, and there is a time that you must get back into the community.  You can’t wall yourself off forever.

Perhaps we all need better ways to process our grief.  Perhaps we need better ways to identify it first of all.  Perhaps we need regular rituals to get it out.  Or is this just another way to compartmentalize it and shove it away in a box?

Perhaps people keep the same boyfriend or spouse who is at worst abusive and at best lazy and unmotivated out of that same sense of fear.  Perhaps people stick with the same dead-end job for the same reason.  Perhaps all sense of powerlessness comes from a root fear of death.  Perhaps the root of this comes from a sense of a loss of control. Perhaps our need for control is the problem.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handling grief

  1. Thanks for your posting. Another element is that just being a photographer will involve not only problem in capturing award-winning photographs but in addition hardships in acquiring the best digital camera suited to your requirements and most especially hardships in maintaining the quality of your camera. This can be very true and noticeable for those photography addicts that are directly into capturing this nature’s interesting scenes : the mountains, the forests, the wild and the seas. Visiting these adventurous places absolutely requires a photographic camera that can surpass the wild’s tough surroundings.|

    Like

Leave a Reply

