Drugs do you

A lot of people think they can’t become addicts.  They think that they can drink or smoke or snort or swallow whatever they want.  They think “That can’t happen to me.”  I say, why not?  What makes you so special?

The only way to be special is to not do it at all.  You can’t tame an addiction.  You can’t do it half way, except at the beginning.  Then it gets bigger and bigger and it will win, every time.   There’s a honeymoon period at the beginning.  It is all sweet and wonderful. It is your best friend, your lover.  It fills in all the gaps.  It makes the bumps in your life not so bumpy.  It makes things warm and mellow.  It makes life not hurt so much.

Then it gets harder, and it wants more.  It takes more to make the warm feeling come.  Then it costs more, and that has you bothered, so you do more of it to not worry about it.  It spirals.  It is like a snake eating its own tail, but you are the one being eaten.

Every time you get near the edge of the abyss and you survive, you think you’re lucky, and you can do it again.  There is always another sign telling you that you’ve gone too far, you should turn back.  That car crash.  The arrest.  Your spouse left you.  You got fired.  There’s always something after the last road sign on the way to your demise.  You think you can stop before you get to the end of the road.  You’re enjoying the ride, you think.  You can stop any time, but you don’t.  You want to see how hard and how fast you can drive this thing.  You don’t realize that the whole time you are the one who is being driven, and you’re being driven to the very edge of madness – and sometimes beyond.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

