Account balance

The secret to saving money is to spend less or make more, or both. Likewise, the secret to losing weight is to burn more calories or take less in, or both.

Move more and eat better and you’ll lose weight.  But the weight isn’t the goal.  The goal is health.  If you move more, you’ll have better mobility in your joints. Your heart will be stronger.  If you eat better, you’ll be giving your body the fuel it needs.  Both will make you feel better and live longer.

I’m not about a starvation diet.  There is no reason you have to eat salads and feel miserable.  But do cut out the fried foods.  They don’t taste of anything except salt and fat.  You can’t taste the goodness in the food when it is fried.

Eat less food in general.  You don’t need to eat like a dog who just got adopted from the pound.  Slow down.  Chew everything at least 20 times.  You’ll digest it better if you eat it more slowly.  Because, you aren’t what you eat, you are what you digest. You can’t digest it if it isn’t properly chewed up. If nothing else, think of all the money you’ll save if you eat less.

Eating less meat and more vegetables is always good. The meat portion, if you are going to have it at all, needs to be the size of a deck of cards.  For most Americans it is often the size of half the plate – and that is just the first helping.  Meat too is expensive, so reducing it will save you in more ways than one.

For vegetables, the more the merrier.  The more variety you can have, the more different vitamins and minerals you are getting.  Every plate of vegetables is a gift from you to your body.  Aim for a lot of color and you can’t go wrong.  If you think you don’t like a certain vegetable, try it another way – steamed or grilled or baked.  Sometimes it isn’t the vegetable, it is the way it is cooked that is the problem.  Texture is essential.  Baked zucchini is totally different from when it is boiled or steamed.  Try it, you might like it.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

