Money and energy

If somebody comes up to you and asks for $20 and you give it to them and it’s not a hardship for you, then everything is okay. They aren’t borrowing it – they just want $20.

But what happens when they come up to you the next day and ask for another $20? Do you give it to them? If you do and it’s not a problem, then again everything is okay.

But what about the next day, and the next day, and the next day?

If they keep asking you for money and you keep giving it to them you might start to feel resentful. You might think “I really don’t have this kind of money to give away.  Why does this person keep asking me for money?”

Really the question is – why do you keep giving it to them if you have a problem with it?

This isn’t really about money, but money is a good way to approach this idea. Money represents energy. Someone can’t take something from you without your permission. Someone can’t take advantage of you without you letting them do it.

If there’s a coworker who is constantly shirking at work and you constantly have to pick up her slack, then that’s your problem, not hers. She is a genius. She’s figured out how to get paid to do half her job. Meanwhile, you’re doing twice the amount of work for the same pay. If you feel put upon and upset and hurt by this, then that is all about you not establishing safe boundaries for yourself.  It is time to say no and mean it.  The other person will push you and test you – this is normal.  Keep saying no.

Why do we so often care about not hurting other people’s feelings, while feeling hurt and upset ourselves?  It is time to change things.  We don’t need to turn this so far around that we aren’t considerate of how others think and feel, but we do need to factor in how we think and feel.  It isn’t fair if feelings aren’t equal, if one person is always getting hurt.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in boundaries. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Money and energy

  1. Suaylia says:

    This is deep. Thank you for this. Great perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

