A change of perspective

 

A change of perspective will do you lots of good.  Try out different things.  Eat at different restaurants.  Sit in a different chair.  Read a different kind of book.

It is important to have different perspectives.  How you see reality is just your take on it.  You are limited by your senses.  Your eyes are different from mine – you might see blues a little better.  I might be shorter than you and catch a different angle on a sculpture.  Together, if we explain how we see what we are looking at, we will both gain a better understanding of what is really there.

Just because someone else sees something differently doesn’t mean that they are wrong and you are right.  You are both right, for yourselves.   You both have made your decision based on the information that you have.  You can both make more informed decisions if you widen your information by sharing.

Don’t be like a small child.  The terrible twos are partly called that because children will call out “NO” vehemently when told to do anything.  They are asserting their independence.  They are saying that they are not puppets or pets.  They can’t be told what to do. They have their own agendas and they want to make sure that they are listened to.  This is an important phase of growth, but it is important to grow out of as well.  Don’t say “no” to someone else’s take on something just because it isn’t the way you see it.  They might have a piece of the puzzle you are missing.

We are all in this together.  Life isn’t about being right and wrong.  It is about sharing and listening to each other.  It is about dialogue instead of debate.  It is about love instead of judgment.

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Be yourself and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A change of perspective

  1. Suaylia says:

    Yep I learned that having a different perspective this year is not bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

