Carbon copy

Sometimes it feels that all we are doing is copying each other.  We copy style, ideas, and ways to think.  We copy so much that we’ve copied our whole lives.  Nothing is original about our lives when we copy. 

After a while we have copied each other so much that we stop being anything at all. Have you ever seen a copy of a copy of a copy? After a while it stops looking like anything at all. It starts looking like a big mess. There are dots everywhere that weren’t there before.

White people in Western culture have started to think that they need to be Native American or Indian or Chinese or Tibetan. They don’t like their own culture and so they try and emulate another culture.  They do this with clothing, with art, with music, with food, and with religion.  Perhaps they think they are showing respect to the other culture by adopting it.

Meanwhile the other cultures are trying to emulate Western culture. They dress like us, watch our TV shows and movies, and have even started to try to look like us.  Asian girls are getting plastic surgery on their eyes to look more Western and less Asian.  There are products in India and Thailand to bleach the skin so they look paler. 

We are trying to be them, and they are trying to be us.  At what point are we going to meet in the middle?  Then we won’t be anything at all.

Perhaps it is best if each person finds her own path.  Stop trying to create it from someone else.   Stop even trying to make it from your own culture.

Perhaps we need to stop faking it, so we can make it. We need to start making it so that we are actually ourselves for a change.

Look at plastic surgery in general.  What does “normal” look like anymore?  Too tall? Too short? Too fat? Too skinny?  Boobs too big/small?   Butt too big/small?  Eyes are too blue/brown/green? You can “fix” that, we are told.  But it isn’t a fix.  It is a fake.  You aren’t broken. Eventually we will all have homogenized ourselves so much that we aren’t anything at all. 

Be yourself.  Don’t copy anybody.

 

 

About betsybeadhead

Hello, and Welcome. My name is Betsy, and I like beads and prayers. Fortunately those two things are more related than I ever realized. You are invited to “like” my Facebook page titled “Betsy Beadhead” and thus see what I’m talking about in my posts when I try to explain something using beads rather than words. This whole thing started because of that. Then I couldn't figure out how to post pictures so I just started writing. I string together words the same way I string together beads, and both serve the same purpose. I work at a library, surrounded by ideas brushing up against each other. I draw, paint, and collage. I study world religions. In all these experiences I like combining different things and making new things, and stretching my understanding of what “is” and what “has to be.” You are welcome to share my posts - just please give credit where credit is due. I'm anti-censorship but I'm also anti-plagiarism.
This entry was posted in Be yourself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

